Current Directors of the BAET


Mr John Clark – Chair of the Board


Ex-Diocesan Secretary: Experience in company law and management. Charity law compliance. Also acted as secretary to the BAET and to the Diocesan Board of Finance.

Susanna Whawell

Susanna Whawell



MANAGING DIRECTOR • AUXILIUM MANAGEMENT • Founding director of Auxilium Management, a division of the Auxilium Group. Shortlisted for SME awards locally and nationally.

SUPPLY CHAIN & CONSULTANCY ROLES Worked for firms such as Gist, Allied Bakeries, and Karndean International in a variety of operational and leadership roles. Suanna has lead teams of up to 80 with 12 direct reports and responsibility for over 1000. Examiner for the CILT on their panel of experts. Past chair of the NW CILT group. Keynote speaker at national events.

Donna Cook

Donna Cook

Donna has recently retired from the Armed forces after31 years service. Donna is an experienced, professional, conscientious and versatile HR Manager with a proven record of success delivered within extremely demanding and pressurised environments. With the ability to remain calm and able to meet complex deadlines in situations requiring diplomacy whilst remaining customer focused. A natural leader with tremendous drive and enthusiasm qualified and practised in HR and personnel financial management. Demonstrates adaptability and interpersonal skills and has experience of the Law Enforcement Sector.


Steve Price


Having graduated, Steve says…back when dinosaurs still walked the earth…he began work as a Field Biologist for a nationwide pest control company.

After those early days, Steve qualified as an Environmental Health Officer and worked at various local authorities, principally South Shropshire District Council, with responsibility for public health and housing.

Whilst at South Shropshire, he worked within Countywide, Sub-Regional and Regional level partnerships. He has held the Chair of Shropshire Chief Environmental Health Officers Group, Shropshire Housing Officers Group, the Shropshire Supporting People Core Strategy Group and the West Housing Market Area of the West Midlands Regional Housing Strategy.

Steve has long held a focus on rural housing issues. Along with colleagues at South Shropshire DC, he contributed to and helped to introduce, the innovative “single housing plot for affordable housing” planning policy. This policy was adopted at Shropshire Council when Shropshire County became a unitary authority in 2009.

He was appointed Assistant Director in charge of Housing for the County of Shropshire in 2008.

Now retired, he lives in Ludlow, a town with longstanding family connections.

He volunteers for several organisations and is presently Chair of Shropshire Rural Housing Association, Chair of The Furniture Scheme, board member of Fuse and of Healthwatch Shropshire.

Andrew Smith

Andrew Smith

Andrew Smith Photo

Headteacher at Mary Webb Secondary School. Chair of Shrewsbury Partnership for Education and Training, Secondary schools, post 16 colleges and training providers. Promoting cooperation and collaboration across the Shrewsbury area.


Alan Soper
Alan Soper 2

Acting CEO of several multi-million pound businesses, Alan has a background in business, HR and finance and lectures in Business Studies.


The Rev. Dr. Ken Hopkins Ken Hopkins

Ken is the retired Pro-Vice chancellor of Kingston University, responsible for performance management and quality assurance. He is currently Chair of Governors at The Hereford Sixth Form College.


Judith Tinsley – CEO


Judith has a wide and varied career in many different areas of education.  She started her career in Herefordshire teaching in secondary schools, with a particular focus on pupils with special educational needs.  Moving to Oxfordshire in the mid 1990’s, Judith developed her skill set to include advisory work for the Local Authority on behaviour and inclusion, both categories, which in turn led on to her becoming a successful primary headteacher in Oxfordshire, including executive Headships and Advisory work.

She returned to Herefordshire as a Local Authority School Improvement Advisor and worked with several schools across the county with a focus on improving teaching and learning, NQT’s and Assessment. She is an accredited OFSTED inspector and is passionate about supporting schools in order to gain the best possible outcome for all pupils.


Kym Wilcocks, B.Ed(Hons), LWCMD (Litentiate Welsh College of Music and Drama)

Primary practitioner and held 2 consecutive Headships in Portsmouth. Retired to Hereford and now Chair of Governors at Longtown Primary School, a Member of the DBE and DBEx, currently chairing the DBE Schools Committee.

An NLG for a year supporting several schools in the county and beyond. In May will become Chair of the Hereford branch of the NSPCC and Childline. Also involved in other voluntary work with the Church and a local hospital in Abergavenny.


Mr Andrew Teale – Interim DDE

Andrew has taught for over twenty years, in primary schools in inner-city Nottingham and across Herefordshire, becoming the headteacher at Pembridge Church of England Primary School in 2003. Andrew has been the headteacher of St Paul’s Church of England Primary School in Hereford since 2010, securing outstanding judgments from OfSTED and in church school inspections. He was the executive headteacher for St Thomas Cantilupe CE Primary from 2012 until 2014, helping the school move from ‘special measures’ to ‘good’ judgments in 11 months. St Paul’s became a National Support School in 2015 and Andrew is now National Leader of Education and a church school (SIAMS) inspector with the Hereford Diocese. Andrew is a governor at Hereford Cathedral School and the three-school federation between Aylestone Business and Enterprise College, Withington Primary and Broadlands Primary School. He is also a director of Activate Education Ltd, a not-for-profit professional development provider and the Interim DDE of the BAET. Andrew has three children.

John Clark

Mr John Clark – Chair of the Board


Ex-Diocesan Secretary: Experience in company law and management. Charity law compliance. Also acted as secretary to the BAET and to the Diocesan Board of Finance.

Karen Bill

Dr Karen Bill

Mike Kneen

Reverend Preb Mike Kneen